Website coding help

Questions about programming languages and debugging
Post Reply
User avatar
ph0bYx
Staff Member
Staff Member
Posts: 2039
Joined: 22 Sep 2008, 16:00
15
Contact:

Website coding help

Post by ph0bYx »

Hey guys.
I'm desperate about this one.

I'm making sort of my personal site that's very simple where I can post my projects and stuff.
Now I have this problem, I coded the navigation:
http://img17.imageshack.us/img17/4882/catsvlq.jpg

But the problem is whenever I resize by browser it looks like this:
http://img394.imageshack.us/img394/4835/cats.jpg

Here are the HTML:
http://code.suck-o.com/150
and CSS codes:
http://code.suck-o.com/151

I'm stuck until I get this to work.
Image

User avatar
bad_brain
Site Owner
Site Owner
Posts: 11636
Joined: 06 Apr 2005, 16:00
19
Location: In your eye floaters.
Contact:

Post by bad_brain »

Code: Select all

main   {
position: relative;
shouldn't this be "absolute"? :-k

User avatar
ph0bYx
Staff Member
Staff Member
Posts: 2039
Joined: 22 Sep 2008, 16:00
15
Contact:

Post by ph0bYx »

No idea, I have tried many things, that's one of them, that could maybe work, but no luck so far :(

User avatar
bad_brain
Site Owner
Site Owner
Posts: 11636
Joined: 06 Apr 2005, 16:00
19
Location: In your eye floaters.
Contact:

Post by bad_brain »

ok, this is really annoying... :lol: I tried for the last hour, also with no luck....my CSS is a little rusty I have to add... :roll:
I'll check again tomorrow if you or someone else haven't figured it out until then... :wink:

btw, for such debugging I recommend to use the Firebug plugin for Firefox, it allows you to edit the source code of the site while watching it...so you don't have to edit/save the original source all the time:
https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/1843

:wink:

User avatar
sherlock
Fame ! Where are the chicks?!
Fame ! Where are the chicks?!
Posts: 109
Joined: 12 Jun 2007, 16:00
16
Location: sydney

Do this

Post by sherlock »

Add this to your style.css

Code: Select all


#mcontainer {
	
	 position: relative;
	 width: 800px;
}

And make a call for it in your html file before your h1 like this

Code: Select all

<div id="mcontainer">
<h1>ph0bYx</h1>
<hr width="550px">
<h2>Index</h2>
and finish it off at the end

Code: Select all


<br/><br/><br/><br/><br/><br/><br/><br/><br/>
<hr width="800px" align="center">

</div>
Let me know if it works...

User avatar
ph0bYx
Staff Member
Staff Member
Posts: 2039
Joined: 22 Sep 2008, 16:00
15
Contact:

Post by ph0bYx »

I've tried your advice shellshock and I got this:
http://img25.imageshack.us/img25/1969/catsykj.jpg

:(

User avatar
sherlock
Fame ! Where are the chicks?!
Fame ! Where are the chicks?!
Posts: 109
Joined: 12 Jun 2007, 16:00
16
Location: sydney

hey

Post by sherlock »

Okay, I was in college when i did that and tested it only on IE. Try this one on and see if it works.

http://code.suck-o.com/152 - CSS File
http://code.suck-o.com/153 - HTML FILE

I ve fixed the Firefox problem but there is still some more things left to do to make it work on IE.. nicely.. Just add a container for the header text so it stays within the browser even when its minimized. Its only a problem with IE now..



Anyways
Peace for now

:wink:

User avatar
ph0bYx
Staff Member
Staff Member
Posts: 2039
Joined: 22 Sep 2008, 16:00
15
Contact:

Post by ph0bYx »

It worked! Thanks!
Don't worry about IE, I'll just add "best view in Mozilla Firefox" or something like that.

Now that that's fixed I have another problem :(
I've uploaded my site on a free host and now I got this problem.
When I try to open it as: site.com it displays only the navigation, the lcontainer, and when I open like: site.com/index.html then it displays the lower content too.
Here's the site link:

Code: Select all

http://ph0byx.110mb.com/index.html

User avatar
bad_brain
Site Owner
Site Owner
Posts: 11636
Joined: 06 Apr 2005, 16:00
19
Location: In your eye floaters.
Contact:

Post by bad_brain »

hmmm....works fine for me on both URLs... :-k

User avatar
ph0bYx
Staff Member
Staff Member
Posts: 2039
Joined: 22 Sep 2008, 16:00
15
Contact:

Post by ph0bYx »

Not for me :?
Here how I see them:
http://img19.imageshack.us/img19/4084/catsepy.jpg

http://img237.imageshack.us/img237/6034/cats2.jpg

PS: I see you added "Staff member" on me :). TnQ ;)

User avatar
bad_brain
Site Owner
Site Owner
Posts: 11636
Joined: 06 Apr 2005, 16:00
19
Location: In your eye floaters.
Contact:

Post by bad_brain »

hmmm...I bet it's because of the browser cache so it displays a cached version where the lower boxes haven't been placed yet. empty the cache and try again... :wink:

User avatar
ph0bYx
Staff Member
Staff Member
Posts: 2039
Joined: 22 Sep 2008, 16:00
15
Contact:

Post by ph0bYx »

Yup, you're right :D
Thank you ;)

Post Reply