Maximize the Juice of your box

About your favorite games!
Post Reply
User avatar
n3rd
Staff Member
Staff Member
Posts: 1474
Joined: 15 Nov 2005, 17:00
18
Location: my own perfect world in ma head :)
Contact:

Maximize the Juice of your box

Post by n3rd »

If you want to give your game priority on computer resources do the following:

Code: Select all

Click at Start > Run > Type regedit > Hit Enter

Click at and expand HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT
Go to exefile (way down there)


Click shell
Right cick at shell > Click New Key
Rename that key to XQSHP
Click at XQSHP which will show its default value at the right side.
Double click at that default value and change it to
Start at High Priority

Now

Right click at XQSHP and create New Key
Rename that Key into command
Click at command and change its default key value at right side to.

C:WindowsSystem32cmd.exe /c start "XQSHP" /high "%1"

Done...

[b]Caution:[/b]

FOR 32 BIT Operating System use the following:
C:WindowsSystem32cmd.exe /c start "XQSHP" /high "%1"

FOR 64 BIT Operating System use following:
C:WindowsSysWow64cmd.exe /c start "XQSHP" /high "%1"

Now right click at the exe file of any game and select 'Start at High priority'.
Now the game will run in High Priority mode, all other PC processes will be slowed down and all PC resources will be utilized to increase performance of that game while you are playing it.

Credits dont go to me but some random dude I cant quote.
[img]http://img580.imageshack.us/img580/8009/userbar2k.png[/img]

User avatar
JohnB
Fame ! Where are the chicks?!
Fame ! Where are the chicks?!
Posts: 191
Joined: 13 Mar 2009, 17:00
15
Contact:

Post by JohnB »

What's the difference between this and just using the task manager and changing the process to 'High Priority' ? Is it just all the others get reduced at the same time?
Sprich mit mir!

User avatar
n3rd
Staff Member
Staff Member
Posts: 1474
Joined: 15 Nov 2005, 17:00
18
Location: my own perfect world in ma head :)
Contact:

Post by n3rd »

with task manager you can give a high priority but it wont maximize the resources ;)
[img]http://img580.imageshack.us/img580/8009/userbar2k.png[/img]

User avatar
bad_brain
Site Owner
Site Owner
Posts: 11636
Joined: 06 Apr 2005, 16:00
19
Location: In your eye floaters.
Contact:

Post by bad_brain »

hm, I kinda doubt it will have a real effect, at least as long as you don't run a video conversion in the background while playing (for example).
can you maybe do a before/after benchmark for a game? would be interesting to see... :-k

Linux provides a much better (and easier) way to set process priorities btw:
http://www.manpagez.com/man/1/nice/

:)
Image

Post Reply