Saving kernel changes

Don´t be shy, Linux is fun! =)
isapiens
Fame ! Where are the chicks?!

Saving kernel changes

Post by isapiens »

hey peeps.

So i am running slackware 12.0 right now.
I am trying to get my wireless working.
In order to do that i have to disable several configurations in the kernel.
Here is the page where it says exactly what i have to do (under '5. KERNEL REQUIREMENTS - Configuration')
http://ipw2200.sourceforge.net/INSTALL

SO basically i have to put 0's instead of 1's. But anyway, i have never done this before. Whats the easy way to change stuff in kernel and how. From what i understand you have to recompile the kernel afterwards. I also noticed commands like menuconfig and xconfig, but i am not sure how to use them.

quick tut for me would be nice or a nice link
Fluoridation is the most monstrously conceived and dangerous communist plot we have ever had to face.

Big-E
Administrator
Administrator

Post by Big-E »

I have not bashed around the kernel myself, and quite frankly I do not feel I am at the level yet where I feel comfortable. I suggest that if you DO mess around with your kernel, that you do a complete backup of all your important data - because I am quite sure that you can mess up your install otherwise.

isapiens

Post by isapiens »

no worries on that part. Everything important is on windows and already backed up. I am purely running linux right now, so i dont care if i mess it up at all
Fluoridation is the most monstrously conceived and dangerous communist plot we have ever had to face.

bad_brain
Site Owner
Site Owner

Post by bad_brain »

here's a quick howto:
http://www.linuxelectrons.com/features/ ... pile-howto
when reaching the menuconfig point a GUI will enable you to do changes, like loaded modules, etc...

but what about installing a 2nd kernel instead of recompiling the working one? the procedure (compiling and installing) is the same and if it fails you still have the 1st kernel left to boot into.