BT4 - Install to HD

Don´t be shy, Linux is fun! =)
sun7
On the way to fame!
On the way to fame!

BT4 - Install to HD

Post by sun7 »

Peace,

Can someone assist with information on installing operating systems onto a hard drive? I want to install BT4 and other Linux machines. I understand formatting hard drives pretty well and I can absolutely wipe all the information off. I am not good at getting the hard drive ready for a clean installation of Operating Systems with a CD.
Intelligence is born from the mind, Teaching and studying are ways of a civilized person.....

sun7
On the way to fame!
On the way to fame!

Post by sun7 »

Peace p4inl0v3r,

I dont get a chance to partition in BT4. I get an empty list. I run the ubiquity installer and select a location and keyboard layout. When the "Prepare Partitions" list comes up, it is empty. I click forward to see what will happen next and get an error, "No root file system", "No root file system defined", "Please correct this from the partitioning menu".

I am stuck after this. If a format and partition of the hard drive is required b/c this is basically a clean install, how do i do that? Can BT4 do that also?

Appreciate the help
Sincerely,
sun7

bad_brain
Site Owner
Site Owner

Post by bad_brain »

hm, I've never installed BT4, so I have no idea if there is a guided partition tool....if not you will simply have to create the partitions manually.
don't worry, it's easy, you need 2 partitions:

- the root partition /
- and the swap space

so simply create a primary partition for / and a swap partition (for the latter one 2GB is enough).

if you want to go a little more professional you can add a /home partition, you user data will be stored there then.

:wink:

sun7
On the way to fame!
On the way to fame!

Post by sun7 »

peace and thanks for the information.