Dragged from "general computing thread"

Our very own fight club!
pseudo_opcode
cyber messiah
cyber messiah

Post by pseudo_opcode »

@FrankB and RNA, IDE and other library stuff comes in when we're working for a software company or working with a team to develop a software or something, this dude is talking about learning programming, he should better start with the basics, and professionals and hackers(at their home) code differently

LaBlueGirl
Suckopithicus chickasaurus

Post by LaBlueGirl »

pseudo_opcode wrote:@FrankB and RNA, IDE and other library stuff comes in when we're working for a software company or working with a team to develop a software or something, this dude is talking about learning programming, he should better start with the basics, and professionals and hackers(at their home) code differently
FrankB wrote:Mhh.. I am a beginner in Java but i know other Oo languages, so i have less difficult to understand what goes on ind Java's excellent IDE : Netbeans
--> http://www.netbeans.org/

You will find all the system & platform requirements there, which JavaRuntime you need, which version of application server etc..

Off course, you can learn a good grip on Java by coding everything from scratch in a simple editor, all you need is javac, the Java compiler and the runtime environment JRE.
But, you are warned, it takes a lot , really a lot of code for simple console programs.
( you will end with your own templates anyway, so opt for both the IDE and console programming

Also : documentation on Java is hard to find : most of the FAQs and documentation is incomplete, erroneous, old or too dense.

Good luck !
An IDE is useless if you don't know what you are doing in the first place.
When learning a language, it's best to code from scratch until you have it fairly well memorized.
Once you get to that point, it is a matter of personal preference.
Since you know what you are doing already, an IDE saves time.