How Fast is thought?

...let us know what you think, free speech!
maboroshi
Dr. Mab
Dr. Mab

How Fast is thought?

Post by maboroshi »

How fast is thought! I always figured if we wanted to travel light years in space we could use our minds and communicate with other life.

We could travel to the past the future light years. Alls I am saying is the human mind is a powerful tool don't disregard it as a means of communication with higher level creatures or being able to travel with it :-)

But if you could measure thought. How fast would it be when the receptors in your mind start firing etc

I dunno

:-P

Bye I will shut up now :-)

floodhound2
∑lectronic counselor
∑lectronic counselor

Re: How Fast is thought?

Post by floodhound2 »

I bet it could be measured perhaps it has already.

I am not a doctor and if i recall from anatomy class at the university, the mind works on chemical and electrical signals. The electrical signals is about the speed of light, the chemicals might be the thing slowing things down a bit. Although some chemical reactions can happen quite rapidly its no where close to the speed of light. This probably explains the reaction time of race car drivers, etc...
₣£ΘΘĐĦΘŮŇĐ

DNR
Digital Mercenary
Digital Mercenary

Post by DNR »

Like Floodie said, the body is firing between gaps of neurons, chemicals in between, maybe plaque. Does the inital firing of a single neuron imply a thought being born? Or does it need a ripple of cross-fires spreading across parts of the brain? Does a mind have to grasp an idea to own it?

What is even more disturbing is the lack of action on intuition.

Intuition is different - it is a thought that has not been grasped by its owner.
People fail to act on intuition, they lose opportunity. 98% of the time, in a well rounded person, your intuition is powerful and correct. (2% of the time, your intuition could be wrong as the circumstances were not exactly clear)

DNR
-