NAT

For beginners, flames not allowed...(just by the staff :P)
wankerstain

NAT

Post by wankerstain »

Hi,

I'm new to network security, coming from a .Net C# background.

We all know that just NAT on your modem/router is not a secure way to prevent a malicious hacker from gaining access to your internal network, however if port scans shows you only open ports on a specific IP and by default none are relayed etc on the modem/router, how would it be possible for someone to compromise your internal network or even specifically target an internal machine?

Mapping an internal non-routable network must be difficult?

I've not used nmap or scanline tools yet, I was hoping to get to learn about the theory and methadologies first.

thanks

wankerstain

bad_brain
Site Owner
Site Owner

Post by bad_brain »

well, a router is a pretty safe way to protect your inner network.
but if an attacker knows the model/manufacturer of the router (or just tries different ones and hope to have success) he can surely use the usual exploiting techniques, we all know that no software is 100% safe, same with the software on routers.
but the most popular technique to get access to the inner network is MAC-flooding. a router acts like a switch and routes the incoming requests to the proper targets in the inner network, to do this the router has a cache where the MAC-adresses (hardware adresses) of the connected clients are stored. now an attacker could send a massive ammount of faked requests by using faked adresses, because the cache of the router´s adress table has a limited size it can´t work properly any more after a while and so isn´t able to decide which requests are "good" and which are faked. so it can happen that the switch routes the requests which have unknown targets to ALL ports like a HUB, "hoping" the right one will answer. when that happens the attacker would be able to sniff the traffic behind the router and so get informations for further malicious activities.