NTLDR is missing

For beginners, flames not allowed...(just by the staff :P)
pwpw

NTLDR is missing

Post by pwpw »

recently I been messing around with my hard disk :roll: and now this error show up whenever I connect it...
Is there any easy step to step guide? which can guide me to fix this problem? I'm a slow learner.. as easy as possible :cry:

bad_brain
Site Owner
Site Owner

Post by bad_brain »

don´t panic... :wink:

-boot from the XP CD

-start the recovery console

-enter the following commands:

Code: Select all

FIXMBR C:

FIXBOOT C:

COPY x:\I386\NTLDR C:\

COPY x:\I386\NTDETECT.COM C:\
replace "x" with the letter of your CD/DVD drive!
replace "C" if your system is located on another drive!

that´s it! :wink:

pwpw

Post by pwpw »

Sry for all this trouble but is there much more easier explaination for it? I'm a hyper newb... :oops: This is a 400GB don't wish to make any stupid mistake and spoil it for nth...
But thx bad brain for your kind help if there isn't any easier ones I'll try to figure it out of what you said. :idea:
And this is a drive letter C:\ right now there is also one more hard drive which is also drive letter C:\ OMG!

bad_brain
Site Owner
Site Owner

Post by bad_brain »

sorry man, but I don´t think there´s an easier method if you want to keep the data on the HDD. you could do a normal install, but of course the data will be lost then. you can try to repair the installation, boot from the XP CD and chose "repair" instead of new installation when you´re asked for it, but this would take much longer than the first method.

your problem is caused by a damaged boot sector, by doing what I´ve said in the first post you fix the boot sector and copy NTLDR from the CD to the HDD. it´s really not hard, just follow it step by step, this would also fix the problem of your "double C"-partition if it really exists, normally the drive letters are given automatically so there can´t be 2 partitions with the same letter.