Windows 7 startup applications

Problems? Post here...
Post Reply
User avatar
ayu
Staff
Staff
Posts: 8109
Joined: 27 Aug 2005, 16:00
18
Contact:

Windows 7 startup applications

Post by ayu »

Have I missed something new with Windows 7?

When I try to add one of my applications to

Code: Select all

HKEY_CURRENT_USER / Software /Microsoft / Windows / Current_version / run
in the registry, it gets added and look ok (I even checked the path, which is C:/program files/appfolder/appname.exe), but when I restart the computer, the application does not get started. Does it have anything to do with privileges maybe?

The Windows 7 "sidebar" is in Program Files as well, and is also in the same part of the registry, and the sidebar gets started when I restart the machine, and yet my little app wont.

Anyone have a clue?
Maybe someone with Windows 7 can give it a test run and help me out? :)

Thanks in advance!
"The best place to hide a tree, is in a forest"

User avatar
bad_brain
Site Owner
Site Owner
Posts: 11636
Joined: 06 Apr 2005, 16:00
19
Location: In your eye floaters.
Contact:

Re: Windows 7 startup applications

Post by bad_brain »

hm, go to start->run and enter shell:startup , then look if you app is listed....if not drag&drop it in there....at least that's how I do it, and it works well for me.. :-k
Image

User avatar
ayu
Staff
Staff
Posts: 8109
Joined: 27 Aug 2005, 16:00
18
Contact:

Re: Windows 7 startup applications

Post by ayu »

bad_brain wrote:hm, go to start->run and enter shell:startup , then look if you app is listed....if not drag&drop it in there....at least that's how I do it, and it works well for me.. :-k
hmm yeah that usually works as well, so maybe that will work as a backup solution :-k

But this is for some naughty code I am writing, so want to get it to work by manipulating the registry.
Will do some more experimenting on this.
"The best place to hide a tree, is in a forest"

User avatar
ayu
Staff
Staff
Posts: 8109
Joined: 27 Aug 2005, 16:00
18
Contact:

Re: Windows 7 startup applications

Post by ayu »

EDIT!

THIS POST IS WRONG! [-(


Found the problem now :|

Watch and learn boys and girls!

Does not work

Code: Select all

C:\Program Files (x86)\AdobeUpdaterSys\AdobeUpdater.exe
Works!
"C:\Program Files (x86)\AdobeUpdaterSys\AdobeUpdater.exe"
And here's the funniest part!
This works!

Code: Select all

C:\Program Files\Windows Sidebar\sidebar.exe /autoRun
Maybe it's because Windows favors its own programs?
Either way, use quotes.
"The best place to hide a tree, is in a forest"

User avatar
lilrofl
Siliconoclast
Siliconoclast
Posts: 1363
Joined: 28 Jan 2009, 17:00
15
Location: California, USA
Contact:

Re: Windows 7 startup applications

Post by lilrofl »

lol, that's good to know, good work!
knuffeltjes voor mijn knuffel
[img]http://i911.photobucket.com/albums/ac320/stuphsack/Sig.jpg[/img]

User avatar
ayu
Staff
Staff
Posts: 8109
Joined: 27 Aug 2005, 16:00
18
Contact:

Re: Windows 7 startup applications

Post by ayu »

lilrofl wrote:lol, that's good to know, good work!

oooook ... I did some more testing and it didn't work after all.
I did some digging to find the problem, and eventually I found it when looking at the bytes that my application was saving to the registry.

When my application was saving the string to the registry, it didn't include the null byte at the end of the string, thus the string in the registry became completely fucked up.
The reason I didn't see this is because the registry editor in Windows only showed me the readable characters, so to me it looked alright.
And when I added the value manually with the registry editor, it looked the same to me, when in reality it added a correct null terminated string.

So, lesson learned from this?

Always check your bytes :)
"The best place to hide a tree, is in a forest"

.stac
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: 14 Oct 2011, 15:36
12

Re: Windows 7 startup applications

Post by .stac »

cool

Post Reply