Best AV?

Problems? Post here...
f4Gg0t_43
Fame ! Where are the chicks?!

Best AV?

Post by f4Gg0t_43 »

Sorry for the stupid question, but I don't have an anti-virus yet, but I do have a firewall, and a lot of weird programs tried to connect to the internet, of course i blocked and google'd them and there all dangerous. So... I need an av now, so what should I get? I'm a noob when it comes to this stuff.

computathug
Administrator
Administrator

Post by computathug »

Well If things are happening, ie popups and software trying to install i recommend any new user to have the following on the system.

1. Firewall (you already have)
2. Anti spyware/ Adware etc ......adaware se and spybot search and destroy for this.
3. A cleaner ..... CCleaner
4. Anti-Virus .... there are quite a few free ones but if you are looking for a free version use Kaspersky 30 day trial. I use Comodo AV and FW.

Next you can start to build on your system from there with software like Process explorer.

Good luck :wink:

f4Gg0t_43

Post by f4Gg0t_43 »

Thanks, just downloaded all the programs you mentioned, but I think I got rid of it with "malwarebytes". It caught 30 things, restarted, nothing tried to connect to the internet.

EDIT: KasperSky won't install with search and destroy installed.

lilrofl
Siliconoclast
Siliconoclast

AV

Post by lilrofl »

Well, I use AVG for anti virus, I know it's turned into quite the resource hog since it was first let out of the box, but it does a good job, and still maintains free updates for life which is good after all.

I have heard good things about NOD32, and there is another one who's name escapes me at the moment.

The bad, AVG has one weakness that is almost unforgivable, it's inability to deal with malicious VBS autorun scripts that are so prevalent on flash media these days, luckily there are small programs that are dedicated to cleaning flash media of such scripts, and life goes on.