ISP Forces to register MAC Address

No explicit questions like "how do I hack xxx.com" please!
Post Reply
User avatar
maboroshi
Dr. Mab
Dr. Mab
Posts: 1610
Joined: 28 Aug 2005, 16:00
15

ISP Forces to register MAC Address

Post by maboroshi »

I currently signed up for adsl with a Canadian Company named TELUS. Among not only being terrible at customer service they require that you register your MAC address through them before using there internet.

Now normally I would say fuck them and go back to my old isp but Im curious as to there software to register my mac address before using there internet. (Note I am not installing anything so software may be the wrong choice of words). I learned that its only registering at the OS lvl cause If I spoof my mac I am forced to re register it

I am curious if it would be checking the modem and if so changing the modems mac address some how (maybe a c script) would allow me certain privilages

Is this assumption correct

Cheers

Maboroshi

User avatar
maboroshi
Dr. Mab
Dr. Mab
Posts: 1610
Joined: 28 Aug 2005, 16:00
15

NM

Post by maboroshi »

Oops the modem doesn't have a listed mac address on it like how my cable modem does

So that may be wrong as well

Would my modem have a mac address regardless? and if so my question is still valid, I am assuming it would :)

User avatar
DNR
Digital Mercenary
Digital Mercenary
Posts: 6114
Joined: 24 Feb 2006, 17:00
15
Location: Michigan USA
Contact:

propriety DSL security?

Post by DNR »

I think the MAC Addy registration is a method of security. By registering your MAC that can help the system filter out spoofed IPs. Perhaps this is to prevent spammers from using their network. It also provides some sort of repudiation - proof that any internet traffic is yours. Why? a DSL is a static IP, so I guess they want to limit the cable to 'one' computer or charge you more $ if you connect a small network to the DSL.

As far as dial-up modems, on my XP box, all I found for a modem identifier was Manufactor, model, and version.

hope that helps :wink:
-
He gives wisdom to the wise and knowledge to the discerning. He reveals deep and hidden things; he knows what lies in Darkness, and Light dwells with him.

User avatar
EvilGod
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: 13 Jul 2006, 16:00
14

Post by EvilGod »

I guess for MOdem there won't b MAC ,
But you can easily spoof MAC ID then use it ...

Post Reply