Page 1 of 1

css background

Posted: 15 Aug 2006, 23:12
by isapiens
just a quick question about css.
I have created a simple site using css, so no html tables. I used <div> to create menu area, header, footer and etc... the usuall stuff.

Then i created an image in photoshop wich is a bit darker then the color of the website, so i wanna put it up as a background. Am i supposed to use the z-index or smth.. i am not quite getting it.

I actually have another problem too. The image that i created just looks like flames (they are filled with gradient gray). But it also has a background color.
Now how do i get rid of the background and just leave the flames, so that background wont overlap with the entier website when i put it up.

I am probably not really clear at what i am saying. let me know if u are not getting it so i can try to explain my problem again.

Posted: 15 Aug 2006, 23:20
by Gogeta70
Well, for the css you would do this:

body
{
background-image:url('image.jpg');
}

And for the flames image back ground, you'll have to delete the background and make it transparent.

Posted: 16 Aug 2006, 10:41
by isapiens
ok got it, tx. I just realized i should have posted it in web development thread.

Posted: 16 Aug 2006, 12:20
by Stavros
You're welcome. :)

Re: css background

Posted: 16 Aug 2006, 12:55
by LaBlueGirl
isapiens wrote:
<snip>
Then i created an image in photoshop wich is a bit darker then the color of the website, so i wanna put it up as a background. Am i supposed to use the z-index or smth.. i am not quite getting it.
This may help:
http://archivist.incutio.com/viewlist/css-discuss/60934

I've never heard of 'smth' so I can't comment on it...
isapiens wrote: I actually have another problem too. The image that i created just looks like flames (they are filled with gradient gray). But it also has a background color.
Now how do i get rid of the background and just leave the flames, so that background wont overlap with the entier website when i put it up.

I am probably not really clear at what i am saying. let me know if u are not getting it so i can try to explain my problem again.
I can give a possible solution, but there are others here more knowledgeable in this field:)

Posted: 16 Aug 2006, 15:10
by isapiens
lol 'smth' stands for something, which means i am not sure what to call it.
From what i understand layouts can be kind of confusing in css.

Posted: 16 Aug 2006, 20:12
by Gogeta70
I prefer CSS over tables, Tables can be more confusing because of all the HTML code.