ubuntu-configuring internet

Don´t be shy, Linux is fun! =)
Post Reply
User avatar
doodle
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: 14 Oct 2006, 16:00
17

ubuntu-configuring internet

Post by doodle »

is any one know configuring internet in ubuntu

User avatar
bad_brain
Site Owner
Site Owner
Posts: 11638
Joined: 06 Apr 2005, 16:00
19
Location: In your eye floaters.
Contact:

Post by bad_brain »

are you using a router?

p99
Fame ! Where are the chicks?!
Fame ! Where are the chicks?!
Posts: 291
Joined: 14 Oct 2006, 16:00
17
Location: Some hippy's van
Contact:

Post by p99 »

You should really provide more information. What type of internet? Dial-up? Cable or dsl?

You computer specs? modem? ethernet car? wifi?

The more info you can provide the better.

d10b
Fame ! Where are the chicks?!
Fame ! Where are the chicks?!
Posts: 159
Joined: 05 Nov 2005, 17:00
18
Location: Saint Paul, MN
Contact:

Silly.

Post by d10b »

The silly thing is Ubuntu does this during installation. :)
``The true voyage of discovery lies not in seeking new landscapes, but in having new eyes``

p99
Fame ! Where are the chicks?!
Fame ! Where are the chicks?!
Posts: 291
Joined: 14 Oct 2006, 16:00
17
Location: Some hippy's van
Contact:

Post by p99 »

Actually it doesn't always. It cannot always detect the hardware correctly.

That kind of put's you at a loss when it comes to configuring because it doesn't know what to do.

User avatar
FrankB
Ph. D. in Sucko'logics
Ph. D. in Sucko'logics
Posts: 315
Joined: 06 Mar 2006, 17:00
18
Location: Belgistahn
Contact:

Re: ubuntu-configuring internet

Post by FrankB »

doodle wrote:is any one know configuring internet in ubuntu
What does the shell says when you type :

/sbin/ifconfig

?

--
Absolutely FrankB

Post Reply