What you think of?

Don´t be shy, Linux is fun! =)
Post Reply
User avatar
Nerdz
The Architect
The Architect
Posts: 1127
Joined: 15 Jun 2005, 16:00
16
Location: #db_error in: select usr.location from sucko_member where usr.id=63;
Contact:

What you think of?

Post by Nerdz »

RedHat 9.0

I'm gonna have it on my second machine... I'm really noob on linux.. what you think about it?
Give a man a fish, you feed him for one day.
Learn a man to fish, you feed him for life.

User avatar
bad_brain
Site Owner
Site Owner
Posts: 11598
Joined: 06 Apr 2005, 16:00
16
Location: The zone.
Contact:

Post by bad_brain »

I use RedHat 9 too and I really can recommend it. I tried a couple of different distros like Slackware or SuSe, but I like RedHat the most. It´s very good for beginners because it´s very easy to install, hardware support is very good (well,ok, got some problems with my analog modem, but cable, ISDN or DSL should work without any problems) and the installation of applications by RPM-packages is very comfortable: http://www.rpmseek.com
So: enjoy! :D

Oh,btw: I suggest to use the Gnome desktop.. :wink:

User avatar
CommonStray
Forum Assassin
Forum Assassin
Posts: 1214
Joined: 20 Aug 2005, 16:00
15

Post by CommonStray »

:cry: ahhhrrgg...Slackware :lol: such an annoying installation

User avatar
bad_brain
Site Owner
Site Owner
Posts: 11598
Joined: 06 Apr 2005, 16:00
16
Location: The zone.
Contact:

Post by bad_brain »

yeah,Slackware can be a little annoying, try FreeBSD, you´ll LOVE it! :twisted:

p.s. um,but don´t do it alone, you´ll need 1 or 2 buddies by your side which have to keep you away from throwing your box out of the window (will happen at latest when you want to get into graphic mode)... :lol:

d10b
Fame ! Where are the chicks?!
Fame ! Where are the chicks?!
Posts: 159
Joined: 05 Nov 2005, 17:00
15
Location: Saint Paul, MN
Contact:

Slackware

Post by d10b »

I actually found slackware the easiest to install. I've tried RH (which was also easy I just didnt like it), debian and gentoo.

Getting Slackware to run GUI just requires configuring xorg.conf.

User avatar
bad_brain
Site Owner
Site Owner
Posts: 11598
Joined: 06 Apr 2005, 16:00
16
Location: The zone.
Contact:

Post by bad_brain »

right, in most cases you don´t even have to configure xorg.conf.
basically it´s just a matter of taste which distro is the personal favorite.
I use RedHat on my server too (not the suck-o one), so it was first choice to use it on my homebox too, and because I´m kinda lazy guy I like the convenience of rpm-packages... :wink:
what I really don´t like is FreeBSD, it already begins with the fact that your current location isn´t displayed so you always have to keep in mind in which folder you are... :?

User avatar
Nerdz
The Architect
The Architect
Posts: 1127
Joined: 15 Jun 2005, 16:00
16
Location: #db_error in: select usr.location from sucko_member where usr.id=63;
Contact:

Post by Nerdz »

I'm currently downloading knoppix bootable cd... to use it on defect comps to get date back... hope it will works! :D
Give a man a fish, you feed him for one day.
Learn a man to fish, you feed him for life.

Post Reply