direct connect.

Problems? Post here...
visser
Fame ! Where are the chicks?!

direct connect.

Post by visser »

i am a newb. just gonna put that out there.
i have two computers. both are connected to the internet through one Ethernet card and the other Ethernet card connects the tow computers together. i was wondering if i could share files between the two computers. i tried to create a new connections under the view connections of the control panel. it didn't work (thats why im on here) so i was wondering if anybody could help me please!!! i really need to be able to share the files between these computers very very fast!!!!!!!

ayu
Staff
Staff

Post by ayu »

See if i get it right....both computers has network cards and one of them has 2?
"The best place to hide a tree, is in a forest"

visser

Post by visser »

both computers have two Ethernet cards. i got a crap load of hardware from my uncle (used and old but still works if you have more than one computer to keep you occupied)

ayu
Staff
Staff

Post by ayu »

Well if the two computers are connected you could try entering the one from the other. right click on a folder you want to share and press "share" or whatever it says. Then (on the other computer) press Start and Run, then write \\ipadressoftheothercomp\folderyouwanttoshare

example: \\192.168.0.45\afolder
"The best place to hide a tree, is in a forest"

floodhound2
∑lectronic counselor
∑lectronic counselor

Post by floodhound2 »

If i remember correctly you'll need a crossover cable to connect the two computer directly.
₣£ΘΘĐĦΘŮŇĐ

ddb
On the way to fame!
On the way to fame!

Post by ddb »

neo130 wrote:Well if the two computers are connected you could try entering the one from the other. right click on a folder you want to share and press "share" or whatever it says. Then (on the other computer) press Start and Run, then write \\ipadressoftheothercomp\folderyouwanttoshare

example: \\192.168.0.45\afolder

thats what i do

and it works fine