Setting up your own server

DON'T post new tutorials here! Please use the "Pending Submissions" board so the staff can review them first.
User avatar
evileye
On the way to fame!
On the way to fame!
Posts: 40
Joined: 03 Sep 2006, 16:00
14
Contact:

Post by evileye »

bad_brain wrote:well, there are a couple of such packages like XAMP or LAMP, the only difference is maybe the versions of servers and the i-face, so they´re all good to start and enough for any home network I think. if you´re more ambitioned in networking the next step is of course a Linux-server.. :wink:

seeing the posts made i m trying to set a home server with the XAAMP. i need some help.

i hav some questions too...

Basically if i have set up a server can other users who are connected to internet connect to my pc if i want to provide services???

If yes will it cost me if they upload something from my SERVER.

What level of security is NORMALLY accepted??//

should i need a domain name or its just a sys

thanks please ans this lamer!!!!
Life is just nothing but a COMPETITION;
To be a CRIMINAL rater than a VICTIM.

User avatar
bad_brain
Site Owner
Site Owner
Posts: 11532
Joined: 06 Apr 2005, 16:00
15
Location: The zone.
Contact:

Post by bad_brain »

well, when you have started the service and the firewall is not blocking it anybody who knows your IP can view the site (maybe you have to use another port, some ISPs block incoming port 80 connections). for the configuration of the webserver look into the file named httpd.conf, you'll find anything you need there. if you don't have a static IP and want a domain name check here:
http://www.no-ip.com/

the security issues depend on what kind of site you want to run, if it's just html you can use the standard config, but for a phpbased site which uses a database you should at least block port 3306 so the db is not available to the outside, the mysql config for XAMPP is located in xampp\mysql\bin\my.cnf

:wink:

ebrizzlez
Kage
Kage
Posts: 732
Joined: 31 Mar 2007, 16:00
13
Location: Hidden in a Buffer Protection.
Contact:

Post by ebrizzlez »

Sweet tut btw. This helped me greatly. Now, is there a way to set up the server other than locally? And if so can it be done with subdomains? Thanks.
[img]http://i81.photobucket.com/albums/j205/ebrizzlez/4lsint1.jpg[/img]

User avatar
bad_brain
Site Owner
Site Owner
Posts: 11532
Joined: 06 Apr 2005, 16:00
15
Location: The zone.
Contact:

Post by bad_brain »

sure, here's how to setup virtual hosts:
http://apptools.com/phptools/virtualhost.php
and if you make apache generally listening to port 80 instead of setting an IP in the apache httpd.conf it's listening on all network devices and can so be accessed from the internet too (don't forget port forwarding if you're using a router)....but you can also simply replace 127.0.0.1 with your NIC IP during setup (on Windows)...:wink:

ebrizzlez
Kage
Kage
Posts: 732
Joined: 31 Mar 2007, 16:00
13
Location: Hidden in a Buffer Protection.
Contact:

Post by ebrizzlez »

Hey, thanks. Really apperciated the tutorial and info bad_brain. :lol:
[img]http://i81.photobucket.com/albums/j205/ebrizzlez/4lsint1.jpg[/img]

TheKingOfHearts
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 901
Joined: 18 Sep 2006, 16:00
14
Location: on my Throne
Contact:

Post by TheKingOfHearts »

thank all of you this topic is very very useful!

i was going to say pin it but its pinned
[url=http://img338.imageshack.us/img338/2034/oopsrg8.gif]/sig[/url]

User avatar
bad_brain
Site Owner
Site Owner
Posts: 11532
Joined: 06 Apr 2005, 16:00
15
Location: The zone.
Contact:

Post by bad_brain »

just a little addition:
http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/linux ... MPTuningP2

more interesting stuff to find there... :wink:

Post Reply