Windows Commands You may have never heard of

Problems? Post here...
Post Reply
User avatar
maboroshi
Dr. Mab
Dr. Mab
Posts: 1624
Joined: 28 Aug 2005, 16:00
18

Windows Commands You may have never heard of

Post by maboroshi »

I would like to start a thread for windows cmd line commands. Some hidden commands not well documented you may have picked up from places, Why not post them here and what they do. Syntax should be in the form they would be used as if you were typing them in.

I will start

this will delete the service specified by service name

Code: Select all

sc delete <service_name>
this next command will check for connections to a remote cmd shell: remotely, and will allow you to kill the unclosed connections that have been closed but not disconnected

Code: Select all

qwinsta /server:maboroshi.homeunix.net
from there type

Code: Select all

rwinsta session_id /server:server_ip_or_server 
This should disconnect the connection - From there you can recheck using qwinsta

Please post as you see fit cheers

Maboroshi

User avatar
ayu
Staff
Staff
Posts: 8109
Joined: 27 Aug 2005, 16:00
18
Contact:

Post by ayu »

oh cool, love the first one ^^

User avatar
bad_brain
Site Owner
Site Owner
Posts: 11636
Joined: 06 Apr 2005, 16:00
19
Location: In your eye floaters.
Contact:

Post by bad_brain »

oh, nice one...I have really never heard of them.. :oops:

here's my favorite one I use often:

Code: Select all

rd /s /q %temp%
deletes all temporary files, good after surfing on the net...if errors are displayed don't worry, that only means a file couldn't be removed because it is still in use... :wink:

User avatar
sternbildchen
Fame ! Where are the chicks?!
Fame ! Where are the chicks?!
Posts: 421
Joined: 26 Apr 2006, 16:00
17
Location: Germany

Post by sternbildchen »

I administer a large number of computers on a network and I have found the following command very useful.
The following Run command opens a Windows Explorer window from which you can access anything as the user you selected.
runas /user:username "explorer /separate"
On a domain managed network you can use:
runas /user:domain\username "explorer /separate"

A window will pop up to ask for your password. If it is correct then the explorer window will open as well. You can even run the Control Panel from it. There are problems with copying between windows owned by different users, though.
Copied this some time ago. Dunno where. Usefull from time to time I guess. :wink:

Similar to the su command in linux.

rhysh
Fame ! Where are the chicks?!
Fame ! Where are the chicks?!
Posts: 767
Joined: 15 Nov 2006, 17:00
17
Contact:

Post by rhysh »

qwinsta = gansta...idk never heard of this one,thanks

User avatar
frosty4u
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: 25 Nov 2008, 17:00
15

Awesum post

Post by frosty4u »

i dont them ...

ThanQ for sharing !![/b]

User avatar
floodhound2
∑lectronic counselor
∑lectronic counselor
Posts: 2117
Joined: 03 Sep 2006, 16:00
17
Location: 127.0.0.1
Contact:

Re: Awesum post

Post by floodhound2 »

frosty4u wrote:i dont them ...

ThanQ for sharing !![/b]
Welcome to the site, but please try not to mess up the forum boards by posting useless information as you have.

This site contains droves of useful information and its going to remain this way.

:wink:

User avatar
JohnB
Fame ! Where are the chicks?!
Fame ! Where are the chicks?!
Posts: 191
Joined: 13 Mar 2009, 17:00
15
Contact:

Post by JohnB »

Code: Select all

 net stop wuauserv
This stops the automatic updates feature when it's bugging you to restart. You can stop any service this way:

Code: Select all

 net stop <service name>
I suppose you can access service names through services.msc but I have only used this command to stop the updates.
Sprich mit mir!

User avatar
Hiram
Fame ! Where are the chicks?!
Fame ! Where are the chicks?!
Posts: 153
Joined: 09 May 2009, 16:00
14

Post by Hiram »

bad_brain wrote:
here's my favorite one I use often:

Code: Select all

rd /s /q %temp%
deletes all temporary files, good after surfing on the net...:wink:
Image

You have shown some skill here. I envy long time experts.
If I may ask; boss, what are the advantages of overusing the black window
(command prompt) other than using a simpler interface which will even be
showing other details in the process? I admit it, I am not an expert in this field
of software and I expect to learn a great deal from you guys.
Nowadays it is inconvenient to adjust a TV set without a remote control. The
remote set is an interface which prevents one from moving to and fro the TV
set. This is a generation of clicking. Let’s adopt it.
I use that black window when I am compiling source code or when using the
Java VM(Virtual Machine).
Anyway this is a good topic. It is good to be equipped with skill; that is if you
have hope in it!:wink:

User avatar
bad_brain
Site Owner
Site Owner
Posts: 11636
Joined: 06 Apr 2005, 16:00
19
Location: In your eye floaters.
Contact:

Post by bad_brain »

well, working in command line is simply faster, simply compare the time you need to type 20 letters with the time you need to move the cursor here and there to open menus and to click around... :wink:

especially on Linux systems you also have a lot more options (apps you can use I mean). and when you have to do with server systems there is usually no desktop at all because it would be simply a waste of precious resources (RAM), everything is done in a shell.

:wink:

User avatar
Hiram
Fame ! Where are the chicks?!
Fame ! Where are the chicks?!
Posts: 153
Joined: 09 May 2009, 16:00
14

Post by Hiram »

Well boss; that's what I need:Skill. But I still think the mouse is easier
to use. It is like a joy stick. :wink:

User avatar
mystrix
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: 24 Jul 2009, 16:00
14

Another thing

Post by mystrix »

Hiram wrote:Well boss; that's what I need:Skill. But I still think the mouse is easier
to use. It is like a joy stick. :wink:
The use of Command prompts may make it easier to create batch files that would only need 1 or 2 clicks to do numerous things. I figure anyway
:)

User avatar
superoe
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: 15 Dec 2009, 17:00
14

Working from the cmd is probably the fastet way

Post by superoe »

if you want to .. go inside a directory .. delete a file .. or even start a graphical tool

Windows Key + R

ncpa.cpl = networking connections
compmgmt.msc= all kind of gui interfaces for computer management
control = opens control panel

there are tones

btw
if you want a file or a program to run from the "Run" windows , just place a short cut for it in the System32 folder

would make starting programs alot easier then try to look for them on the desktop or inside the start menu

User avatar
JohnB
Fame ! Where are the chicks?!
Fame ! Where are the chicks?!
Posts: 191
Joined: 13 Mar 2009, 17:00
15
Contact:

Post by JohnB »

if you want a file or a program to run from the "Run" windows , just place a short cut for it in the System32 folder
Great tip! Thanks!
Sprich mit mir!

Post Reply