amd 64, 3700+ (s754) or 3500+ (s939) ?

Computer Hardware and electronics in general.
Post Reply
User avatar
Xonet
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 202
Joined: 08 Jun 2005, 16:00
16
Location: Belgium
Contact:

amd 64, 3700+ (s754) or 3500+ (s939) ?

Post by Xonet »

Well as i am preparing myself with all info about the parts i'll buy after i got my money this summer to buy my leet pc :P . I was wondering what would be the best to buy since i only have about 250 euro available to spend on my cpu and these 2 are at the right price.

the 2cpu's are:

the amd 64 3700+ clawhammer core (socket 754 @ € 264)
1600 mhz system bus
2.40 ghz
L1 cache: 128kb L2 cache 1MB

the amd 64 3500+ venice core (socket 939 @ € 279)
2000 mhz system bus
2.20 ghz
L1 cache : 128kb L2 cache: 512 kb


So what i was wondering is if it is worth to give in the 512KB L2 cache and 0.20 ghz for a socket 939 cpu with a 2000 mhz system bus instead of a 1600.

Thanks for the help :)

User avatar
bad_brain
Site Owner
Site Owner
Posts: 11609
Joined: 06 Apr 2005, 16:00
16
Location: The zone.
Contact:

Post by bad_brain »

Damn...sorry for the late reply.. :?
Hm, I don´t think there will be a remarkable performance difference so you could simply choose the cheaper one and use the spare money for some real nice RAMs.
If you really want to save some money without losing performance get a AMD 64 3000+ Winchester! Costs just about 100 € and this CPU is the dream of every overclocker, you can push it to a level even beyond a FX55 (which costs 800 €!) and with a good cooling (inevitable anyway) like a nice Zalman fan you have a stable highend system for very little money!

:wink:

User avatar
Xonet
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 202
Joined: 08 Jun 2005, 16:00
16
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Post by Xonet »

:) :) :)

Just as i'm about to order my parts prices drop a LOT, for the same money i can now buy the s939 3700+ San diego, wich has the both 8)

User avatar
bad_brain
Site Owner
Site Owner
Posts: 11609
Joined: 06 Apr 2005, 16:00
16
Location: The zone.
Contact:

Post by bad_brain »

Um, I forgot to mention: Owning a system better than mine will lead to an immediate ban! :evil:

:lol: :wink:

User avatar
Xonet
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 202
Joined: 08 Jun 2005, 16:00
16
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Post by Xonet »

Whats in your system? :D maybe we can compare

User avatar
bad_brain
Site Owner
Site Owner
Posts: 11609
Joined: 06 Apr 2005, 16:00
16
Location: The zone.
Contact:

Post by bad_brain »

Um,well....I have a pretty basic system, XP 2500+ Barton, AsRock K7S8X, 768MB RAM, Radeon 9200. But it runs really good, faster than some 3000+ systems of some of my friends. More important than high-end performance is for me that the system works really silent, that´s why I´ve chosen the 9200 because it has an passive cooling and the case- and CPU- fans are really silent ones too.
So: I HAVE to ban you already, get a PII and you´re welcome again... :lol:
Enjoy your new system... :wink:

User avatar
Xonet
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 202
Joined: 08 Jun 2005, 16:00
16
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Post by Xonet »

hehe i think i deserve the ban :P, anyway this is my new system, just waiting for all parts to arrive now 8)

MSI K8N SLI Platinum
Corsair TWINX1024-3200C2PT TWINX, matched pair (2x 512 MB), Platinum.
AMD Athlon 64 San Diego 3700+
Maxtor DiamondMax Plus 10 300 GB7.200 rpm16 MBSATA/150
Club3D X800 XL

User avatar
bad_brain
Site Owner
Site Owner
Posts: 11609
Joined: 06 Apr 2005, 16:00
16
Location: The zone.
Contact:

Post by bad_brain »

Real sweet! :D
Oh how I would love to play a nice round of Far Cry on it... 8)
Well, I´m thinking about a new system too and use my actual one as a linux server, but I´ll have to wait a little until I have enough money on the side. Maybe I´ll get a Intel one this time, but I´m not sure about it yet....

Post Reply