Random Freezes

Stuff that don´t fit in the other categories.
User avatar
Stavros
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
Posts: 1088
Joined: 02 Jan 2006, 17:00
15
Location: Mississippi, U.S.A.

Random Freezes

Post by Stavros »

Ok. I got this copy of XP Pro w/ SP2 and it runs good. It's just every so often I get a freeze. When i boot back up and check Event Viewer, there's no error message. I am very confused. Can someone help me troubleshoot?

I have a Minidump file and it's a DMP File. I don't know what can read it. I open it up in Notepad and its a bunch of gibberish. Anyone have a clue?

xtheblack9x
suck-o-fied!
suck-o-fied!
Posts: 99
Joined: 15 Jan 2006, 17:00
15
Location: USA

Re: Random Freezes

Post by xtheblack9x »

Stavros wrote:Ok. I got this copy of XP Pro w/ SP2 and it runs good. It's just every so often I get a freeze. When i boot back up and check Event Viewer, there's no error message. I am very confused. Can someone help me troubleshoot?

I have a Minidump file and it's a DMP File. I don't know what can read it. I open it up in Notepad and its a bunch of gibberish. Anyone have a clue?
and you have tryed another copy of windows that works on this machine?

switch to Linux :) j/k (kinda)

User avatar
bad_brain
Site Owner
Site Owner
Posts: 11564
Joined: 06 Apr 2005, 16:00
16
Location: The zone.
Contact:

Post by bad_brain »

hm, are this random freezes or do they happen when you´re gaming for example?

User avatar
Stavros
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
Posts: 1088
Joined: 02 Jan 2006, 17:00
15
Location: Mississippi, U.S.A.

Post by Stavros »

I believe this is the 3rd copy, but I can't talk about how I got them *ahem*. No I haven't loaded any games yet. I've just got Avast! 4 Home Edition Anti-Virus Software, Spybot S&D, Adaware, and Firefox installed. This copy seems to be doing much better than the past 2 copies.

User avatar
Nerdz
The Architect
The Architect
Posts: 1127
Joined: 15 Jun 2005, 16:00
15
Location: #db_error in: select usr.location from sucko_member where usr.id=63;
Contact:

Post by Nerdz »

Maybe the ram has to do something in this...
Give a man a fish, you feed him for one day.
Learn a man to fish, you feed him for life.

User avatar
Stavros
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
Posts: 1088
Joined: 02 Jan 2006, 17:00
15
Location: Mississippi, U.S.A.

Post by Stavros »

I think it's software, but for the hell of it I'll run Memtest once again when I get home although I know the outcome. I've tested and tested and tested some more, but I never get an error with Memtest86. Are there any other RAM test programs?

xtheblack9x
suck-o-fied!
suck-o-fied!
Posts: 99
Joined: 15 Jan 2006, 17:00
15
Location: USA

Post by xtheblack9x »

Stavros wrote:I think it's software, but for the hell of it I'll run Memtest once again when I get home although I know the outcome. I've tested and tested and tested some more, but I never get an error with Memtest86. Are there any other RAM test programs?
if your getting errors with memtest86 thats a bad sign. try taking out one stick and testing it allown, then testing the other stick allown.

User avatar
Stavros
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
Posts: 1088
Joined: 02 Jan 2006, 17:00
15
Location: Mississippi, U.S.A.

Post by Stavros »

I've tested them while they were both in and got 0 (zero) errors. It ran overnight approximately 17 hours, 22 Passes I believe.

I've also tested the HDD with a diagnostic from Western Digital's website (it's a Western Digital HDD) and the diagnostic reported zero errors.

User avatar
bad_brain
Site Owner
Site Owner
Posts: 11564
Joined: 06 Apr 2005, 16:00
16
Location: The zone.
Contact:

Post by bad_brain »

hm,if you got no errors while installing XP (file can not be copied for example) it points to either a hardware or a driver problem. if you got no beeps during startup I don´t think it´s the RAM. when the system freezes are you able to reboot instantly or do you have to wait for some minutes?

User avatar
Stavros
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
Posts: 1088
Joined: 02 Jan 2006, 17:00
15
Location: Mississippi, U.S.A.

Post by Stavros »

Well, I coldn't find a system speaker wire, so I don't have one. I've installed the drivers (motherboard and video card, I'm not wasting my time on mouse and keyboard. Onboard mouse and keyboard drivers work fine). I'm able to reboot instantly.

User avatar
bad_brain
Site Owner
Site Owner
Posts: 11564
Joined: 06 Apr 2005, 16:00
16
Location: The zone.
Contact:

Post by bad_brain »

k, instant reboot means it´s not a temperature problem.
but I recommend to connect a speaker, if a beepcode appears it would tell you where the problem is.... :wink:

User avatar
Stavros
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
Posts: 1088
Joined: 02 Jan 2006, 17:00
15
Location: Mississippi, U.S.A.

Post by Stavros »

Ok. I'll consult the motherboard manual for system speaker. The EPoX EP-9NPA+Ultra may not come with one. Um, what program can read a DMP file. I have 2: one from last night and I got a Blue Screen a minute after I booted up, but I forgot to turn off Auto Restart, so I didn't get the STOP code.

Just ran Hijack This! just incase it can pick up a potential problem:

Logfile of HijackThis v1.99.1
Scan saved at 4:21:51 PM, on 1/26/2006
Platform: Windows XP SP2 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP2 (6.00.2900.2180)

Running processes:
C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SOUNDMAN.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\system32\RUNDLL32.EXE
C:\PROGRA~1\AVAST!~1\ashDisp.exe
C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.5.0_06\bin\jusched.exe
C:\Program Files\Avast! 4 Home Edition\aswUpdSv.exe
C:\Program Files\Avast! 4 Home Edition\ashServ.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\nvsvc32.exe
C:\Program Files\Avast! 4 Home Edition\ashMaiSv.exe
C:\Program Files\Avast! 4 Home Edition\ashWebSv.exe
C:\Program Files\Hijack This!\HijackThis.exe

R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Connection Wizard,ShellNext = http://windowsupdate.microsoft.com/
O2 - BHO: (no name) - {53707962-6F74-2D53-2644-206D7942484F} - C:\PROGRA~1\SPYBOT~1\SPYBOT~1\SDHelper.dll
O2 - BHO: SSVHelper Class - {761497BB-D6F0-462C-B6EB-D4DAF1D92D43} - C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.5.0_06\bin\ssv.dll
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ManualRun] "D:\AUTORUN\AutoRun"
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SoundMan] SOUNDMAN.EXE
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [KernelFaultCheck] %systemroot%\system32\dumprep 0 -k
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvCplDaemon] RUNDLL32.EXE C:\WINDOWS\system32\NvCpl.dll,NvStartup
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [nwiz] nwiz.exe /install
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvMediaCenter] RUNDLL32.EXE C:\WINDOWS\system32\NvMcTray.dll,NvTaskbarInit
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [avast!] C:\PROGRA~1\AVAST!~1\ashDisp.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SunJavaUpdateSched] C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.5.0_06\bin\jusched.exe
O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {08B0E5C0-4FCB-11CF-AAA5-00401C608501} - C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.5.0_06\bin\ssv.dll
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Sun Java Console - {08B0E5C0-4FCB-11CF-AAA5-00401C608501} - C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.5.0_06\bin\ssv.dll
O9 - Extra button: Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Windows Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
O23 - Service: avast! iAVS4 Control Service (aswUpdSv) - Unknown owner - C:\Program Files\Avast! 4 Home Edition\aswUpdSv.exe
O23 - Service: avast! Antivirus - Unknown owner - C:\Program Files\Avast! 4 Home Edition\ashServ.exe
O23 - Service: avast! Mail Scanner - Unknown owner - C:\Program Files\Avast! 4 Home Edition\ashMaiSv.exe" /service (file missing)
O23 - Service: avast! Web Scanner - Unknown owner - C:\Program Files\Avast! 4 Home Edition\ashWebSv.exe" /service (file missing)
O23 - Service: NVIDIA Display Driver Service (NVSvc) - NVIDIA Corporation - C:\WINDOWS\system32\nvsvc32.exe

User avatar
Stavros
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
Posts: 1088
Joined: 02 Jan 2006, 17:00
15
Location: Mississippi, U.S.A.

Post by Stavros »

Programs installed on this computer: Hijack This!, Trillian, uTorrent, Avast! AntiVirus 4 Home, Spybot, Ad-Aware, Firefox, 7-Zip, and Driver View from the downloads section.

User avatar
Nerdz
The Architect
The Architect
Posts: 1127
Joined: 15 Jun 2005, 16:00
15
Location: #db_error in: select usr.location from sucko_member where usr.id=63;
Contact:

Post by Nerdz »

what is the soundman stuff!? 8O
Give a man a fish, you feed him for one day.
Learn a man to fish, you feed him for life.

User avatar
Stavros
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
Posts: 1088
Joined: 02 Jan 2006, 17:00
15
Location: Mississippi, U.S.A.

Post by Stavros »

C:\WINDOWS\SOUNDMAN.EXE <--That? It's onboard sound.

Post Reply