My *special* copy of XP Pro is on the fritz. :evil:

Problems? Post here...
Post Reply
User avatar
Stavros
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
Posts: 1092
Joined: 02 Jan 2006, 17:00
15
Location: Mississippi, U.S.A.

My *special* copy of XP Pro is on the fritz. :evil:

Post by Stavros »

So my question is where can I find XP Pro (preferably Retail so I can upgrade without having to call into M$ everytime I upgrade) for cheap? I've found it half off, but it was OEM. Also to totally rule out the OS as my computer problem I'm going to get an official copy.

User avatar
CommonStray
Forum Assassin
Forum Assassin
Posts: 1214
Joined: 20 Aug 2005, 16:00
15

Post by CommonStray »

Best Buy

d10b
Fame ! Where are the chicks?!
Fame ! Where are the chicks?!
Posts: 159
Joined: 05 Nov 2005, 17:00
15
Location: Saint Paul, MN
Contact:

newegg.com

Post by d10b »

Why retail... so you get the box? There's nothing in the box but the CD.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/ProductLi ... tegory=368

Oops no word wrap... :)

User avatar
Stavros
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
Posts: 1092
Joined: 02 Jan 2006, 17:00
15
Location: Mississippi, U.S.A.

Post by Stavros »

Heh, old thread. Well, I got it from a P2P network (Bit Torrent), so it could have been corrupted.

I know what the problem was. It was RAM incompatable to my MoBo. I got a new set last night and tested it and then slapped it in. My bro played World of Warcraft to put some strain on the RAM. No problems now.

I still have several copies of Windows VLK (the kind they have in computer shops that don't require an activation code).

Post Reply