best linux...

For beginners, flames not allowed...(just by the staff :P)
akadeadman
forum buddy
forum buddy

best linux...

Post by akadeadman »

im looking at getting in to Linux, but as i have no experience with Linux i am wondering what basic distro would you suggest i start with so I can get a basic understanding of Linux. I will eventually build my own but i want to start with a pre built distro one first

Still_Learning
Fame ! Where are the chicks?!

Post by Still_Learning »

Ubuntu

Big-E
Administrator
Administrator

Post by Big-E »

Linux is like woman, they come in different varieties. For example, Circuitbomb likes them short, fat and hairy - whereas I enjoy the more scrumptious blonde, skinny and busty babe.

What I am getting at is there is no "Best Linux" - some people prefer one, over another. Its all a matter of preference. If you are feeling particularly frisky, I suggest one of the more hands on distrobutions which will make you work and understand more about the operating system - try Slackware or Gentoo.

Good luck matey.

Lyecdevf
cyber Idi Amin
cyber Idi Amin

Post by Lyecdevf »

For a beginner I suggest Mandriva, Sabayon, Ubuntu (although I do not like it), Suse,...Right now I am on suse. I have been using it for a while now. It serves me right. I have tried several distros and this one is perfect for me!

P.S. You can also use this site to help you out:
http://www.zegeniestudios.net/ldc/index.php
We will either find a way, or make one.
- Hannibal

caisher
On the way to fame!
On the way to fame!

Post by caisher »

lol it's a nice one
The barrier to change is not too little caring; it is too much complexity.
改变世界的阻碍,并非人类的冷漠,而是这个世界太复杂

akadeadman
forum buddy
forum buddy

Post by akadeadman »

i have been pointed towards SUSE before by one of my friends who was trying Linux. now this may sound like a stuped question but should i use gnome or kde?
Last edited by akadeadman on 20 Jun 2008, 05:51, edited 1 time in total.

computathug
Administrator