IRC server now up!

...let us know what you think, free speech!
User avatar
moudy
Technology Enthusiast
Technology Enthusiast
Posts: 688
Joined: 10 Feb 2009, 17:00
12
Location: Beirut, Lebanon

Post by moudy »

and whats the IP of the old server ?
sorry but how to connect ? :oops:
mahmoud_shihab@hotmail.com

User avatar
n3rd
Staff Member
Staff Member
Posts: 1474
Joined: 15 Nov 2005, 17:00
15
Location: my own perfect world in ma head :)
Contact:

Post by n3rd »

/server IP
[img]http://img580.imageshack.us/img580/8009/userbar2k.png[/img]

User avatar
bad_brain
Site Owner
Site Owner
Posts: 11566
Joined: 06 Apr 2005, 16:00
16
Location: The zone.
Contact:

Post by bad_brain »

as ph0byx wrote, it's also announced on the startpage: 62.75.148.170

:wink:

User avatar
moudy
Technology Enthusiast
Technology Enthusiast
Posts: 688
Joined: 10 Feb 2009, 17:00
12
Location: Beirut, Lebanon

Post by moudy »

i joined IRC
Thanks alot for the help :)
mahmoud_shihab@hotmail.com

mystikblaze
Infinite Haze
Infinite Haze
Posts: 334
Joined: 11 Jun 2005, 16:00
15
Location: abroad
Contact:

Post by mystikblaze »

..
Last edited by mystikblaze on 21 Jun 2009, 08:45, edited 2 times in total.
Any fool can count the seeds in an apple. Only God can count all the apples in one seed. ~Robert H. Schuller
God is the greatest.

User avatar
bad_brain
Site Owner
Site Owner
Posts: 11566
Joined: 06 Apr 2005, 16:00
16
Location: The zone.
Contact:

Post by bad_brain »

hm, never used trillian for IRC, what is the exact problem? are you connecting to the IP or to irc.suck-o.com? in the latter case it'll fail (at least at the moment)... :-k

User avatar
bad_brain
Site Owner
Site Owner
Posts: 11566
Joined: 06 Apr 2005, 16:00
16
Location: The zone.
Contact:

Post by bad_brain »

IRC can be accessed via irc.suck-o.com again too btw... :wink:

User avatar
lilrofl
Siliconoclast
Siliconoclast
Posts: 1363
Joined: 28 Jan 2009, 17:00
12
Location: California, USA
Contact:

Post by lilrofl »

Just tried to connect to IRC, the host name resolves but I get a connection time out... since I have never used IRC before I am not sure of the troubleshooting format (google was a little vauge) I am on a university network that limits a host of things (torrents mostly) and am not sure if their setting would have an effect on IRC, other chat clients work fine (YIM MSN AIM and the like)

ideas?

User avatar
bad_brain
Site Owner
Site Owner
Posts: 11566
Joined: 06 Apr 2005, 16:00
16
Location: The zone.
Contact:

Post by bad_brain »

hmm...how you tried to connect? via IRC client or via the web client on the right of the startpage? :-k

User avatar
lilrofl
Siliconoclast
Siliconoclast
Posts: 1363
Joined: 28 Jan 2009, 17:00
12
Location: California, USA
Contact:

Post by lilrofl »

both as of now, the IRC client says it's a socket error but that's all the information it gave, maybe 6667 is the wrong port?

User avatar
bad_brain
Site Owner
Site Owner
Posts: 11566
Joined: 06 Apr 2005, 16:00
16
Location: The zone.
Contact:

Post by bad_brain »

nope, it's definitely the right one. try if you can telnet to IRC:

Code: Select all

telnet suck-oold.com 6667
if it's not working it is most likely filtered by the university network settings, in this case I should be able to run IRC on an extra port for you (one that is not a known IRC one).

User avatar
lilrofl
Siliconoclast
Siliconoclast
Posts: 1363
Joined: 28 Jan 2009, 17:00
12
Location: California, USA
Contact:

Post by lilrofl »

$ telnet suck-o.com 6667
Trying 62.75.148.170...
telnet: connect to address 62.75.148.170: Connection timed out
telnet: Unable to connect to remote host: Connection timed out

User avatar
bad_brain
Site Owner
Site Owner
Posts: 11566
Joined: 06 Apr 2005, 16:00
16
Location: The zone.
Contact:

Post by bad_brain »

ok, filtered then.

try port 9999 instead.... :wink:

User avatar
n3rd
Staff Member
Staff Member
Posts: 1474
Joined: 15 Nov 2005, 17:00
15
Location: my own perfect world in ma head :)
Contact:

Post by n3rd »

lilrofl wrote:$ telnet suck-o.com 6667
Trying 62.75.148.170...
telnet: connect to address 62.75.148.170: Connection timed out
telnet: Unable to connect to remote host: Connection timed out
firewall?
[img]http://img580.imageshack.us/img580/8009/userbar2k.png[/img]

User avatar
lilrofl
Siliconoclast
Siliconoclast
Posts: 1363
Joined: 28 Jan 2009, 17:00
12
Location: California, USA
Contact:

Post by lilrofl »

n3rd wrote:
firewall?
More then likely, fairly sure it's not mine... but stranger things have happened I suppose lol

Post Reply