Samba + mounted disks + permissions?

Don´t be shy, Linux is fun! =)
ayu
Staff
Staff

Samba + mounted disks + permissions?

Post by ayu »

Ok so I have a samba fileserver here at home, and my room mate wants to be able to access it and download files, and also I thought of giving him a folder where he can upload stuff to me when needed.

So I created a new samba user and a new user for the box (since I have security = user on the server). But of course, his account doesn't have shell access.

Anyway, I added the group "samba" and added myself and him to it.

I have 2 mounted disks

the first disk is named gb100 and has the following permissions

owner: www-data:www-data (my account is a member of www-data)
mod: 0770

So my room mates account shouldn't be able to access it. And then I have another disk named gb500 with the following permissions

owner: cats: samba
mod: 0750

So my friend should only be able to download and execute from it, nothing more. Then he has a folder called "smbupload" in the gb500 disk that has owner cats:samba and mod 0770, so he should be able to access it.

Now, the problem is that he can access EVERYTHING.... and when I do "ls -l" I get that root:root is the owner of all the folders =/

Is there something I missed? the disks are mounted automatically through fstab....to /mnt
"The best place to hide a tree, is in a forest"

bad_brain
Site Owner
Site Owner

Post by bad_brain »

hm, are you using the "forced user/group" setting in the config again? :-k

ayu
Staff
Staff

Post by ayu »

bad_brain wrote:hm, are you using the "forced user/group" setting in the config again? :-k
naah removed it, since my friend couldn't login with the force user, and with or without the group didn't matter.

I think it's something when the disks are being mounted, since they seem to belong to root for some reason.

EDIT:

Ok I read a little more about fstab and changed to the following:
/dev/sdb1 /mnt/gb100 ntfs-3g uid=www-data,gid=www-data,umask=007,nls=utf8 0 0