chkdsk probs

Problems? Post here...
Post Reply
User avatar
kip
On the way to fame!
On the way to fame!
Posts: 36
Joined: 02 Aug 2005, 16:00
15
Contact:

chkdsk probs

Post by kip »

hello everyone im new to the forums. i was woundering if anyone could help me with a problem.
i have been running the chkdsk command and it has found errors.
but this is the proplem i come up agains everytime.

the type of file is fat32
windows found errors on the disk but will not fix because i didnt use the /f (fix) parameter. but when i run chkdsk/f it replies.
connot lock current driver

chkdsk connot run run because the volume is in use by another prosses. y/n to schedule for the next time my comp starts.
i press y and it says the same thing when my comp restarts it runs the process but will not fix.
what im i doing wrong.
ive even tried this in save mode and im still coming up against the same problem.

User avatar
bad_brain
Site Owner
Site Owner
Posts: 11575
Joined: 06 Apr 2005, 16:00
16
Location: The zone.
Contact:

Post by bad_brain »

Hey mate... :wink:
Hm, what OS are you using?
How old is the HDD, is it SMART capable? If yes, tried to check it with SMART?
What I find strange is the "volume is in use by another process"-thing, done a full system scan for malware in the last time?

User avatar
kip
On the way to fame!
On the way to fame!
Posts: 36
Joined: 02 Aug 2005, 16:00
15
Contact:

Post by kip »

my comp is clean from any malware, spyware, etc to the best of my knowledge anyways.
im using windows xp home edition. 5.1, build 2600
hdd, is that old less than six months.
now smart compatible? not that sure what that is?

User avatar
bad_brain
Site Owner
Site Owner
Posts: 11575
Joined: 06 Apr 2005, 16:00
16
Location: The zone.
Contact:

Post by bad_brain »

SMART=Self-Monitoring Analysis and Reporting Technology
Nearly all newer mobos and HDDs support it, just look in your BIOS settings!
Shit happens, a friend of mine bought a new HDD and it was damaged.
If SMART shows errors bring the HDD back and demand a new one.
If no SMART is available check the drive with a normal diagnostics program:
http://www.majorgeeks.com/HDD_Scan_and_ ... d4330.html
:wink:

User avatar
Khanvikt
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: 14 Aug 2005, 16:00
15

Post by Khanvikt »

try the "unlock" command from the prompt. Also, many 3rd party utilities will take "ownership" of a drive if they are configured to run maintenance proceedures in the backgroung.

User avatar
kip
On the way to fame!
On the way to fame!
Posts: 36
Joined: 02 Aug 2005, 16:00
15
Contact:

Post by kip »

tried the :unlock: command no luck but thanks but i think im onto a winner with that link: thank badbrain

Post Reply