Change Mac on Linux

Don´t be shy, Linux is fun! =)
Post Reply
User avatar
maboroshi
Dr. Mab
Dr. Mab
Posts: 1602
Joined: 28 Aug 2005, 16:00
15

Change Mac on Linux

Post by maboroshi »

Well searching for a way to change my mac on Linux

I learned

ifconfig down
ifconfig eth0 hw ether 010101010101
ifconfig up

ifconfig

However I recieved the error SIOCSIFHWADDR: Device or Resource Busy

I read elsewhere and other people are having this issue seems I need to add "ifconfig $iface down" to the stop clause of /etc/init.d/net

But to my avail no net file so I open inet.d and theres a bunch of protocols but not what Im looking for

So any ideas on what needs to be changed Im using Mandriva 2006 Ive got a wireless network card that Im not using on eth1 and my main network card on eth0

Cheers

And ty

User avatar
maboroshi
Dr. Mab
Dr. Mab
Posts: 1602
Joined: 28 Aug 2005, 16:00
15

Just learned

Post by maboroshi »

Just learned

/etc/init.d/networking stop
ifconfig eth0 hw ether 00:01:02:03:04:08
/etc/init.d/networking start

but that doesn't work either so I guess I have to open up inet.d again and see what the terminology is in Mandriva

I learned that at wikipedia but it also says not to do it if using a dsl modem hmm maybe theres a reason for that anyone know why

will keep trying

Cheers its late now lol

User avatar
Isam
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: 09 Apr 2006, 16:00
14

Post by Isam »

Under Fedora and prolly RedHat you have

Code: Select all

[root@scotch ~]# cat /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-eth0
# VIA Technologies, Inc. VT6102 [Rhine-II]
DEVICE=eth0
BOOTPROTO=dhcp
HWADDR=00:0C:76:BB:0A:D6
ONBOOT=yes
TYPE=Ethernet
most *nix boxes will accept

Code: Select all

ifconfig eth0 down
ifconfig eth0 1.1.1.1 netmask 255.255.255.255 hw ether 00:01:02:03:04:08 up

Post Reply