Hacking Linksys BEFSR41v3

No explicit questions like "how do I hack xxx.com" please!
Post Reply
User avatar
H4evr
On the way to fame!
On the way to fame!
Posts: 43
Joined: 30 Apr 2006, 16:00
14
Location: Portugal
Contact:

Hacking Linksys BEFSR41v3

Post by H4evr »

Hi

I've been trying to hack a router: a Linksys BEFSR41v3.
I've tried the default passwords I know of for this router:
user pass
(blank) admin
admin (blank)
admin admin

and it didn't work. The administrator changed the password.

I also tried Brutus but it gives me an error: (Warning: error due to pre-authentication), so I made my own bruteforcer. It works but it will take ages to find the correct combination.

I would like to know if anyone know an exploit/hack valid for this router?

Thanks in advance for any answer (positive or negative).

EDIT:
I forgot to post the routers answer:

HTTP/1.1 401 Authorization Required
WWW-Authenticate: Basic realm="Linksys BEFSR41v3"
Content-type: text/html
Expires: Thu, 13 Dec 1969 10:29:00 GMT
Connection: close
Cache-Control: no-cache
Pragma: no-cache

<html><head><title>401 Authorization Required</title></head><body bgcolor=red te
xt=white><h1>401 Authorization Required</h1>This server could not verify that yo
u are authorized to access. Either you supplied the wrong credentials(e.g., bad
password), or your browser doesn't understand how to supply the credentials requ
ired.</body></html>

User avatar
DNR
Digital Mercenary
Digital Mercenary
Posts: 6114
Joined: 24 Feb 2006, 17:00
15
Location: Michigan USA
Contact:

linksys website

Post by DNR »

http://www.linksys.com/servlet/Satellit ... torWrapper

The above link is a visit to the linksys tech pages. Admin is the default password lol. RTFM.

Let us know how it goes.

DNR
-
He gives wisdom to the wise and knowledge to the discerning. He reveals deep and hidden things; he knows what lies in Darkness, and Light dwells with him.

User avatar
H4evr
On the way to fame!
On the way to fame!
Posts: 43
Joined: 30 Apr 2006, 16:00
14
Location: Portugal
Contact:

Re: Hacking Linksys BEFSR41v3

Post by H4evr »

H4evr wrote:I've tried the default passwords I know of for this router:
user pass
(blank) admin
admin (blank)
admin admin

and it didn't work. The administrator changed the password.
Has I said, I've tried the default passwords.
Thanks anyway.

User avatar
Gogeta70
^_^
^_^
Posts: 3253
Joined: 25 Jun 2005, 16:00
15

Post by Gogeta70 »

Orite. Passwords are case sensitive, so 'admin' and 'Admin' are completely different. I'd suggest trying 'Admin,' as suggested before by DNR.
¯\_(ツ)_/¯ It works on my machine...

User avatar
CommonStray
Forum Assassin
Forum Assassin
Posts: 1214
Joined: 20 Aug 2005, 16:00
15

Post by CommonStray »


User avatar
H4evr
On the way to fame!
On the way to fame!
Posts: 43
Joined: 30 Apr 2006, 16:00
14
Location: Portugal
Contact:

Post by H4evr »

gogeta70 wrote:Orite. Passwords are case sensitive, so 'admin' and 'Admin' are completely different. I'd suggest trying 'Admin,' as suggested before by DNR.
Thanks for the tip. Tried it already.
That's exactly my situation. I'm in a local lan where the remote administrator feature is supposed to be turned off. But they changed the password.

Note: Still working on the bruteforce attack.

Post Reply