Debian lenny networking [Solved]

Don´t be shy, Linux is fun! =)
Post Reply
User avatar
Macross
Fame ! Where are the chicks?!
Fame ! Where are the chicks?!
Posts: 152
Joined: 01 May 2007, 16:00
16
Contact:

Debian lenny networking [Solved]

Post by Macross »

It might sound silly but how do i connect to the net using Debian lenny? :D With other distros i had no problem of setting up a connection, but in debian all i see is
Image

Ifconfig output
Image

My connection is dail up DSL.
Also i noticed that response time in debian is kinda slow. To fire up terminal it takes 7 seconds everytime i launch it :S Maybe its becouse i don't have video drivers installed yet.

User avatar
bad_brain
Site Owner
Site Owner
Posts: 11636
Joined: 06 Apr 2005, 16:00
19
Location: In your eye floaters.
Contact:

Post by bad_brain »

ok, are you using a direct internet connection ("dialing in" from the computer through the DSL modem) or are you going through a router using DHCP?

in the first case start pppoeconf, it's the configuration application for direct connections where you can enter the provider data.

in the latter case (going through a router) open /etc/network/interfaces and add an entry like this:

Code: Select all

auto eth0
iface eth0 inet dhcp
or, if you are using a static IP instead of DHCP:

Code: Select all

iface eth0 inet static
address 192.168.1.1
netmask 255.255.255.0
gateway 192.168.1.0
192.168.1.1 is the IP of your computer, 192.168.1.0 is the router IP in this example.

when done editing the file restart networking by:

Code: Select all

/etc/init.d/networking restart
or reboot...


and yeah, the slow response is most likely caused by the video driver, make sure to install the proper official one from the manufacturer, howtos can be easily found for ATI and nvidia... :wink:

User avatar
Macross
Fame ! Where are the chicks?!
Fame ! Where are the chicks?!
Posts: 152
Joined: 01 May 2007, 16:00
16
Contact:

Post by Macross »

bad_brain wrote:ok, are you using a direct internet connection ("dialing in" from the computer through the DSL modem)
Thats the case. You mean type pppoeconf in terminal? Well it says that command not found.

(My modem is connected though lan card)

User avatar
bad_brain
Site Owner
Site Owner
Posts: 11636
Joined: 06 Apr 2005, 16:00
19
Location: In your eye floaters.
Contact:

Post by bad_brain »

um, I assume you have installed Lenny from DVD? look if pppoeconf is on it:

Code: Select all

apt-get install pppoeconf
if it fails you can configure it also manually:

- open /etc/ppp/pap-secrets
- add your connection data, syntax is:

Code: Select all

"username@yourprovider.com"  *  "password"
- open /etc/ppp/peers/dsl-provider
- add:

Code: Select all

user "username@yourprovider.com"
then initiate the connection:

Code: Select all

pon dsl-provider

:wink:

User avatar
Macross
Fame ! Where are the chicks?!
Fame ! Where are the chicks?!
Posts: 152
Joined: 01 May 2007, 16:00
16
Contact:

Post by Macross »

New pair of shoes :D

Code: Select all

Oct  5 17:46:12 Cyber pppd[3099]: Plugin rp-pppoe.so loaded.
Oct  5 17:46:12 Cyber pppd[3100]: pppd 2.4.4 started by macross, uid 1000
Oct  5 17:46:12 Cyber pppd[3100]: PPP session is 6645
Oct  5 17:46:12 Cyber pppd[3100]: Using interface ppp0
Oct  5 17:46:12 Cyber pppd[3100]: Connect: ppp0 <--> eth1
Oct  5 17:46:12 Cyber pppd[3100]: Warning - secret file /etc/ppp/pap-secrets has world and/or group access
Oct  5 17:46:13 Cyber pppd[3100]: Warning - secret file /etc/ppp/pap-secrets has world and/or group access
Oct  5 17:46:13 Cyber pppd[3100]: Remote message: permission denied
Oct  5 17:46:13 Cyber pppd[3100]: PAP authentication failed
Oct  5 17:46:13 Cyber pppd[3100]: Connection terminated.

User avatar
bad_brain
Site Owner
Site Owner
Posts: 11636
Joined: 06 Apr 2005, 16:00
19
Location: In your eye floaters.
Contact:

Post by bad_brain »

alright, now make sure the login data is correct and you're set, also make sure the syntax is right (I'm not sure about the usage of quotation marks, so try it with and without).
the general connectivity is already working, it's only your provider that don't let you in because of an error in the syntax or because of a typo)... :wink:

User avatar
Macross
Fame ! Where are the chicks?!
Fame ! Where are the chicks?!
Posts: 152
Joined: 01 May 2007, 16:00
16
Contact:

Post by Macross »

im 100% sure that it's correct. (I used pppoeconf to set it up) :)

User avatar
bad_brain
Site Owner
Site Owner
Posts: 11636
Joined: 06 Apr 2005, 16:00
19
Location: In your eye floaters.
Contact:

Post by bad_brain »

hmmm....well, as I said, the general connectivity works, so when the login data is 100% correct it must be either a problem with the modem or with the provider... :-k

have you tried to re-connect the modem?

User avatar
Macross
Fame ! Where are the chicks?!
Fame ! Where are the chicks?!
Posts: 152
Joined: 01 May 2007, 16:00
16
Contact:

Post by Macross »

YAY modem reconection helped :) Im online now thanks a bunch!

User avatar
bad_brain
Site Owner
Site Owner
Posts: 11636
Joined: 06 Apr 2005, 16:00
19
Location: In your eye floaters.
Contact:

Post by bad_brain »

you're welcome, great it works now.... :)

now edit /etc/apt/sources.list (can also be /etc/apt/sources.list.d/debian.list),
comment out or remove all CD/DVD entries and use those entries for example: http://code.suck-o.com/6286

then, in order to update your system, do:

Code: Select all

apt-get update
apt-get upgrade
:wink:

Post Reply