DVD burner cant pull out the case

Computer Hardware and electronics in general.
isapiens
Fame ! Where are the chicks?!

DVD burner cant pull out the case

Post by isapiens »

I was bored today so i decided to disassemble my desktop computer. I have never done this before so i am really enjoying it. I took everything out, including the motherboard.

I cant seem to figure out how to take the dvd burner out. Is it possible that I have to take the entire cage out first before i can take the burner out?

My main goal is to start customizing my pc case for no reason. I found this hd mod on internet.
http://case-mods.linear1.org/hard-drive-window-2/4/
did anyone ever do this? I assume its not good for you hard drive, but it will look pretty cool.[/url]
Fluoridation is the most monstrously conceived and dangerous communist plot we have ever had to face.

bad_brain
Site Owner
Site Owner

Post by bad_brain »

hm, strange...either there are screws on the side or it is drawer (but that's not very likely for 5.25", it's more a 3.5" HDD thingy).

can you maybe post a pic? :-k

isapiens

Post by isapiens »

Its the drive up top. I removed the latches. The dvd drive moves like half an inch and then stops. I could apply more force but dont want to break anything. Everything else came out pretty easy, you know.

Let me know if you need a different angle. I am using my cellphone camera cuz i am poor.
Fluoridation is the most monstrously conceived and dangerous communist plot we have ever had to face.

bad_brain
Site Owner
Site Owner

Post by bad_brain »

hm, I bet it's one of those levers, I guess the right one....simply move it to the right and see what happens.. :wink:
my first case also had some kind of clamping mechanism, the intention behind such mechanisms is that you don't need screws... :wink:

floodhound2
∑lectronic counselor
∑lectronic counselor

Post by floodhound2 »