Bash, macchanger

Don´t be shy, Linux is fun! =)
sun7
On the way to fame!
On the way to fame!

Bash, macchanger

Post by sun7 »

Peace,

Anyone good in scripting able to help? I am new to scripting and want to start with something basic, like using macchanger to get a random mac address.

The command I run in the konsole is "macchanger -r wlan0"

I am looking to learn how to execute this by saving it into a script, so I can build on it more!!!!

Anyone out here able to help?
If this is not the right place to post please let me know!

Sincerely,
sun7

lilrofl
Siliconoclast
Siliconoclast

Post by lilrofl »

save it as a .sh file and then make it executable with the chmod command.

chmod is a command that changes permissions, chmod +x filename.sh will add executable permissions.

Alternatively you can use a three digit number to designate permissions. The first digit represents owner permissions, the second represents group permissions and the third is other's permissions. The values are 4 = read 2 = write and 1 = executable. By adding together the numbers to attain the permission levels you are looking for you come up with a unique value for every permission set.

example:
read (4) write (2) and execute (1) gives you a value of 7, where as read (4) and write (2) gives a value of 6. So

777 would be read write and execute access to all users, where 766 would be read, write and execute for the owner of the file, and read write for everyone else.

Running the command becomes a matter or ./filename.sh
Here's an excerpt written by Carla Schroder

The easiest thing to do is put the script in a directory that is accessible to all your authorized users, which is not (for good reasons!) your home directory.